Home   About   Academics   Admissions   Events   People   Projects   Research   Resources


  People
     . Faculty
          . Adjunct Faculty
          . Distinguish guest Faculty
          . Erstwhile faculty
          . Experts
     . Project Staff
     . Support Staff
     . Students
     . Alumni
     . Review Committee


There are 22 faculty members supported by technical as well as workshop personnel in their educational, research and consultancy projects. They are engaged in a variety of tasks within the campus as well as outside IIT. They interact with industry and institutions in organizing seminars, conducting short term courses and workshops, consultancy and advisory programme, quality improvement programme for teachers, and holding exhibitions.

The faculties have backgrounds in Industrial Design, Graphic Design, Animation, Film and Video, Architecture, Art, Engineering Sciences and Ergonomics. They have qualifications from Institutions such as IDC, IIT Bombay, India; NID, India; RCA, UK and RISD, USA.

 


Bapat, V P
Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7819
email:  bapat@iitb.ac.in
Product Design
Creative Engg. Details
Rapid Prototyping

Further links...


Balan Sudesh
Assistant Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email:  sudesh@iitb.ac.in
Digital Film-making
Photography
Cinematography
Lens Optics & Image manipulation
VFX Photography

Further links...


Chakravarthy, B K
Professor and
Institute Chair Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7860
email:  chakku@iitb.ac.in
Product Styling and Perception, Creativity
New Product Innovation
Design Strategy
Humanizing Technology
Collaborative Innovation Methodology

Further links...


Dalvi, Girish
Assistant Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email:  girish.dalvi@iitb.ac.in
Typography
Type Design
Interaction Design
Research Methods in Design

Further links...
Hingorani, Alka
Associate Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email:  alka@iitb.ac.in
Visual Narratives

Further links...

Joshi, Anirudha

Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7829
email:  anirudha@iitb.ac.in
User studies, Usability Evaluations, Quantitative Design Research Methods, Design Issues, Minors Course in Human-Computer Interaction

Further links...

Joshi, Purba

Assistant Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7816
email: purba_joshi@iitb.ac.in
Computer Aided Design
Product form and Aesthetics
Product Prototyping
Further links...

Malhotra, Sugandh

Assistant Professor

email: sugandh@iitb.ac.in

Automotive styling design,
Context based design,
Culture centered design,
Trend identification and forecasting,
Design forecasting,
Design research methods

Further links...

Mohanty, Raja

Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7825
email: rajam@iitb.ac.in

Visual Arts , Aesthetics
Narratives and Storytelling, Ceramics

Further links...

Pillai, Jayesh

Assistant Professor

Phone: 09425156428
email: jay@iitb.ac.in
Visual Communication,
Video Communication,
Virtual Reality

Further links...

Poovaiah, Ravi

Professor & D. L. Shah Chair Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7820
email: ravi@iitb.ac.in
Interaction Design , Environment Design
Communication Design, Social Media, nformation Visualization and Structuring

Further links...

P. Kumaresan

Assistant Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email: kums@iitb.ac.in

Product Interface Design
Product innovation
Craft
Prototyping

Further links...

Ranade, Shilpa

Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email: shilpa@iitb.ac.in

Animation
Illustration
Graphic Design

Further links...

Rane, Mandar

Associate Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7839
email: mrane@iitb.ac.in

Graphic Design, Basic Design, Web Media , Print Media Further links...

Rao, Sumant M

Associate Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email: sumant_rao@iitb.ac.in
Animation , Illustration,
Special Effects

Further links...

Ray, G G

Professor & Ramakrishna Bajaj Chair Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7821
email:  ggray@iitb.ac.in
Muck skeletal issues and load bearing activities,Workstation Ergonomics, Design and Geriatric Needs, Design and Special Needs

Further links...
Venkatesh Rajamanickam
Associate Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email:  venkatra@iitb.ac.in
Human-Computer Interface Design
Data Visualization
Technology and Learning


Further links...

Sadhu, N

Assistant Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7824
email:  sadhu@iitb.ac.in
Product Ergonomics
Visual Ergonomics
HCI

Further links...

Sabnani, Nina

Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7812
email: ninamsabnani@iitb.ac.in

Illustration, Visual Narratives, Animation Studies , Visual Ethnography, Storytelling

Further links...

Sandesh, R

Associate Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7814
email: sandesh.idc@iitb.ac.in

Product Design
Form Studies
Craft Culture Design and Development

Further links...
Sreekumar, G V
Professor and Head of IDC

Phone: 091-022-2576 7834
email: gvsree@iitb.ac.in
gvs.idc@gmail.com
Magazine Design
Typography
Information Design
Publication Design
Design Pedagogy
Further links...

Sharma, Nishant

Associate Professor

Phone: 091-022-2576 7815
email: nishantsharma@iitb.ac.in
Automotive Design
Vehicle Design Process
Product Form and Aesthetics
Participatory Innovation
Further links...

Tetali, Phani

Associate Professor
Phone: 091-022-2576 7831
email: phanit@iitb.ac.in
Animation , Gaming
New Media in Education
Further links...
      
  People
     . Faculty
          . Adjunct Faculty
          . Distinguish guest Faculty
          . Erstwhile faculty
          . Experts
     . Project Staff
     . Support Staff
     . Students
     . Alumni
     . Review Committee


Adjunct faculty at IDC

Athavankar, U A


Phone: 091-022-2576 7817
email:  uaa@iitb.ac.in
Product Design
Product Semantics
Cognition & Imagery

Further links...

Hazra, Ravi



Phone: 022-28571649
email: ravihaz@iitb.ac.in
Environmental Design,
Furniture Design

Further links...

Mazhar Kamran



Phone: 09892247100
email:  mazhar@iitb.ac.in
Animation  

Rao, A G




Phone: 091-022-2576 7828
email: agrao@iitb.ac.in
Product Design , Basic Design, Bamboo Craft

Further links...

 

 
 


Distinguish guest faculty at IDC


B. Bhaumik




Phone: 091-022-2576 7801
email: bidyabijay@yahoo.com

Automotive Design & Development,
Management of Automotive Production Development,
Product Strategy

Further links...

 

 
 


Visiting Professor at IDC


Amita Sharma



Additional Secretary (HE),MHRD
email:
amitasharmahrd@gmail.com

Product Design


Peer Sathik



Nanyang Technological Institute, Singapore
email:
PeerSathikh@ntu.edu.sg

Product Design, Human Centred Design of Products and Services

 

 
 


Erstwhile faculty at IDC


K Munshi

1975 - 2016

email:munshi@iitb.ac.in
munshi999@yahoo.com

Product Design , Design Management , Design Methods, Mobility and Vehicle Design

Further links...

K Ramachandran
2008 - 2016
email:ramachandran@iitb.ac.in
Product Design , Design Methodology , Design Management, Mobility and Vehicle Design
Further links...
Trivedi, Kirti
1976 - 2014
email: kirti@iitb.ac.in
Graphic Design, Exhibition Design
Indian Design Tradition

Further links...
Bhandari, Mohan


email: m.bhandari@hotmail.com Product design,
Pedagogy of Basic Design
Chattopadhyay, M


P474, K Block, New Alipore, Kolkata - 700 053
Phone: 091-044-3096 5071

Product design,
Auto Design,
Lighting Design

Joshi, R K



Visual Design, Typography,
Typeface Design, Calligraphy
Nadkarni, S

Res: Worli, Mumbai
email:nadkarni36@yahoo.com

Product Design,
Environmental Design,
Exhibition Design
 
Kulkarni, Kiran



Product Design,
Basic Design
Sethi, Suresh
2003 - 2005


School of Art, Design and Media Nanyang Technological University, 81, Nanyang Drive, Level 3-22 Singapore 637458
email: ssethi@ntu.edu.sg
Product design, Basic Design,
Lighting Design, Environmental Design

    


 

 

Home> People > Faculty

    Home