Home   About   Academics   Admissions   Events   People   Projects   Research   Resources

     . Faculty
Visiting Faculty
     . Project Staff
     . Support Staff

     . Students

     . IDCians in Places

 Search Yearwise:

IDCians in Places – from the first 25 batches

This is a listing of IDCians from the first 25 batches (1969 to 1995) holding leadership positions in industry/ firms/ oranisations/ institutions.

Almost  one in every four graduates from these batches hold key positions.

Total in this list 

Director/Heads In Academics
President /Vice Presidents of Multinationals/large company
Started Own Company/Design Firms

Head of Design in Product Design Industry
Head of Design in User Experience/Computing Industry
Head of Design in In Automobile Industry
Head of Deign in Communication Industry

Total no of graduates from 25 batches in Product Design
Total no of graduates from 11 batches in Communication Design
Total graduates from 1969 to 1995

 = 100 out of the 403 (graduates from 1969 to 1995)

 = 26
 = 13
 = 9
 = 33

 = 26
 = 20
 = 10
 = 11

 = 296
 = 107
 = 403

PD 1970-72

B Bhaumik

Vice President of Product Development (Retired)
Mahindra and Mahindra, India

PD 1970-72 Kishore Munshi Professor and Head (Past)
IDC, IIT Bombay, India
PD 1970-72 Kadiru Ramachandran Professor and Head (Past)
DoD, IIT Guwahati, India
PD 1970-72 Harikumar Nair Director,
Global Advanced Design Studio of Whirlpool, USA
PD 1971-73 Suhas S Kakde President and Chief Executive,
U.S. Aeromotive Inc., USA
PD 1971-73 Neera Adarkar Urban Research and Urban Activism
Adarkar Associates, Mumbai, India
PD 1973-75 Vijay Bapat Professor and Head (Past)
IDC, IIT Bombay, India
PD 1975-77 K Joseph Peter Church Architect of Kerala
K J Associates, India
PD 1975-77 Kishore Babu Chief Executive Officer
Composite Technologies, Bengaluru, India
PD 1975-77 Ravi Poovaiah Professor and Head (Past)
IDC, IIT Bombay, India
PD 1976-78 Ashok Panwalkar Design Head and Creative Director (Retired)
Philips India, India
PD 1976-78 Gulu Bhumra

Senior Vice President,
Hawkins Cookers, Mumbai, India

PD 1977-79 Satish Raut Head of Design (Retired)
MSME Development Institute, Mumbai, India
PD 1979-81 Rajkumar Konar

Professor in Design,
Silpa-Sadana,Visva-Bharati,Sriniketan, India

PD 1979-81 MN Shivram President,
TeleVital, Bengaluru, India
PD 1980-82 Ajith Kumar General Manager
Funskool India, India
PD 1980-82 KumKum Nadig Head of Graphic Design Department
Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Bengaluru, India
PD 1980-82 Dinesh Verma Managing Director
Ace Group of Architects, Bengaluru, India
PD 1980-82 Basha Mohammad General Manager R and D
TVS Motor Company, Chennai, India
PD 1981-83 Y. D. Venkatesh Principal
Xavier Institute of Engineering, Mumbai, India
PD 1981-83 Vijay Kothari Design Director
Adaptive Design, Nagpur, India
PD 1982-84 Dilipan R Vice President R and D
Stovekraft Pvt. Ltd, Bengaluru, India
PD 1982-84 Ravi Mokashi Professor and Head (Past)
DoD, IIT Guwahati, India
PD 1982-84 Pradyumna Vyas Director
National Institute of Design (NID), India
PD 1983-85 Abhimanyu kulkarni Design Head and Creative Director
Philips India, India
PD 1983-85 Sunil Malhotra Chief Executive Officer and Head of Design
Ideafarms, New Delhi, India
PD 1983-85 Ravi Nafde Director and Chief Technical Officer
Cleantech, Nagpur, India
PD 1983-85 Anil Saini Director,
Design Studio General Motors (GM), India
PD 1984-86 Sanjay Jain Director – Design Incubation Centre
MIT Institute of Design, Pune, India
VC 1984-86 Sunil Khullar Director Software Technologies
Summit, Delhi, India
PD 1984-86 Peer M Sathikh

Deputy Chair
School of Art, Design and Media (ADM), NTUSingapore

VC 1984-86 Sridhar Ranghayan Film Director and Gay Activist
Mumbai, India
PD 1984-86 Simhan V Mandyam Chief Executive Officer
Triage Life Sciences, California, USA
PD 1984-86 Nitin Urdhwareshe Associate Vice President & Head - User Experience Presitant Systems, Santa Clara, USA
VC 1985-87 Srirang Sathye Director Animation
Tata Elxsi VCL, Mumbai, India
PD 1985-87 Pradeep Save Design Manager
Onida Design Centre, Mumbai, India
VC 1985-87 Anubir and Bhavana Singh

Face Graphics Potteries, N Delhi,India

PD 1985-87 Rajan Vernekar Managing Director
Ravedesign, Mumbai, India
PD 1986-88 Suresh Hiremani Deputy General Manager
Integrated Design and Manufacturing Centre, Mahindra and Mahindra, Mumbai, India
PD 1986-88 B K Chakravarthy Professor and Head
Industrial Design Centre, IIT Bombay, India
VC 1986-88 Raghu Kolli Vice President and Head
Livelabs, IMRB International, Bengaluru, India
PD 1986-88 Vinay Mundada Director
Symbiosis Institute of Design, Pune, India
PD 1986-88 Boban Varghese Professor and Head
Department of Architecture at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
VC 1987-89 Deepak Patil Chief Operating Officer
Mindsensors Robotics, Richmond, VA, USA
PD 1987-89 Prasad boradkar Professor, Director of InnovationSpace
Arizona State University, USA
VC 1987-89 Dipti Varghese Creative Director
Design@bay, Port Elizabeth Area, South Africa
VC 1987-89 Poornima Phaltankar Creative Director,
Tattva Design Studio, Mumbai, India
PD 1987-89 Unmesh Kulkarni Design Director
Philips Design, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
PD 1987-89

Puhazhendi Kaliyappan

Director - Global Customer Support
Perfint Healthcare, Chennai, India
VC 1987-89 Vikas Saligram

Head of the Department
Department of Applied Art
Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts
University , Hyderabad, India

PD 1988-90 Punya Mishra Professor and Director
of Master of Arts in Educational Technology
Michigan State University, USA
PD 1988-90 Rajeev Prakash Khare Art Director
Delhi Press, New Delhi, India
PD 1989-91 Sudheer Barve Chief Designer
ATG airports ltd, London, UK
VC 1989-91 Sudeep Dasgupta Lead Design Manager
ebay, San Jose, USA
PD 1989-91 Pankaj Junja General Manager of Design
Tata Motors, Pune, India
PD 1989-91 Satyendra Pakhale CEO
Satyendra Pakhale associates, Amsterdam
The Netherlands
PD 1989-91 Dhananjay shahane Design Manager
Balck and Decker, Pune, India
PD 1989-91 Prakash Unakal Professor and Senior Associate Dean
Business Design, We-School, Bengaluru, India
VC 1989-91 Ajay Thombre CEO
Fineline Advertising LLC, Dubai, UAE
PD 1989-91 Gayatri Rao Director
Animagic India, Mumbai, India
PD 1989-91 Phani Tetali Vice President and Producer (Past)
FXLabs Studios, Hyderabad, India
PD 1990-92 Sameer Bagga Vice President & Head of Marketing,
HCL America at HCL Technologies, NY, USA
VC 1990-92 R. Venkatesh Deputy Director (Past)
Singapore Polytechnic Design School, Singapore
PD 1990-92 Swaminathan Iyer Design Manager
Electrolux SEA Pte Ltd, Singapore
VC 1990-92 Dinesh Khatre Associate Director and HoD
Centre for Development of Advanced Computing, Pune, India
PD 1990-92 Sudhakar Lahade Manager for New Business Innovations and Growth Initiatives
Steelcase, Grand Rapids, MI, USA
PD 1990-92 Sabanayaham P CEO
1 Message, Bangaluru, India
PD 1990-92 Samudra Sen CEO
Learning mate, Mumbai, India
PD 1991-93 Ganesh Gaikwad Head User Experience
Tata Consultancy Services, Pune, India
VC 1991-93 Satish Babusenan